One constructive step you can take is to contact your elected and other officials and let them know how the L train shut down will affect you, your family, your commute, your neighborhood, your business, the environment. 

You can write them, e-mail them and, in many cases, call them. If you aren’t sure exactly who your elected representatives are, CLICK HERE to help you locate them.

We’ve also put together some sample letters you may find helpful in composing your own communications:
        SAMPLE LETTER from residents
        SAMPLE LETTER from businesses

While they are not elected, Commissioner Trottenberg and President Byford head up the two largest agencies involved in planning for the L train shutdown - the Department of Transportation and the Metropolitan Transportation Authority. 

Department of Transportation (DOT)
Polly Trottenberg, Commissioner
55 Water Street, 9th Floor
New York, NY 10041
Contact form for Commissioner Trottenberg:
(PLEASE NOTE  - This link allows for a very short message.  If you have more to say, write or call.)

Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) 
Andy Byford, President
MTA New York City Transit
2 Broadway
New York, NY 10001

To locate your elected officials:
      Click on or copy and paste this link into your browser:
     The ‘Who Represents Me’ page will open. 
     Enter your address and select it from the pulldown menu. 
     A web page with three tabs – CITY; STATE; FEDERAL - will open.  
          Select the one you want and scroll down for the appropriate information for your specific location.

Elected Officials Contact Info:

NYC Mayor Bill de Blasio
City Hall
New York, NY 10007
Contact form for the Mayor

Manhattan Borough President

Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer
1 Centre Street, 19th Floor  New York, NY 10007
phone: 212-669-8300

New York City Council

Councilperson Carlina Rivera
Legislative Office – Dostrict 2
250 Broadway, Room 1808  New York, 10007
phone: 212-788-7366

Councilperson Corey Johnson, Speaker
District Office
224 West 30th Street, Suite 1206
New York, NY 10001
phone: 212-564-7757

Legislative Office
250 Broadway, Suite 1856
New York, New York 10007
phone: 212-788-6979

Councilperson Keith Powers
District Office, District 4
211 East 43rd Street Suite 1205
New York, NY 10017
phone: 212-818-0580

Legislative Office
250 Broadway Suite 1815
New York, NY 10007
phone: 212-788-7393

New York State Senate:

Senator Brad Hoylman – District 27
District Office
322 Eighth Ave., Suite 1700
New York, NY 10001
phone: 212-633-8052

Senator Liz Krueger – District 28
District Office
211 E 43rd Street, Suite 1201
New York, NY 10017
phone: 212-490-9535

State Senator Brian Kavanaugh – District 26
District Office
250 Broadway,  Room 2011
New York, NY 10007
phone: 212-298-5565

New York State Assembly:

Assemblymember Richard Gottfried  
District Office
242 West 27th Street
New York, NY 10001
phone: 212-807-7900

Assemblymember Deborah Glick
District Office
853 Broadway
Suite 2007
New York, NY 10003
phone: 212-674-5153

United States Congress:

Congressman Jerrold Nadler
201 Varick Street, Suite 669
New York, NY 10014
phone: 212-367-7350

Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney
Manhattan District Office
1651 3rd Avenue, Suite 311
New York, NY 10128-3679
phone: 212-860-0606